Dinner Guest

This is a short story I wrote a couple of weeks ago. It was inspired by the piece of wax (formerly a candle) in the picture

Candle wax that was the inspiration for this story.

Candle wax that was the inspiration for this story.

 

At dinner, a guest was struck by the green candle at the centre-piece. It stood tall and thick, with its modest flame shining a comforting light into the room.

The guest got lost in the glint of the green candle’s light, and wondered how it had become so beautiful in its shapely imperfection. It stood on a thick bronze candle-stick that had two arms curving upwards. It’s green wax had spilled onto these arms, forming a beautiful layer of gentle ridges that filled it with so much life.

In a daze, the guest asked the candle, “You look as if you are happy to flow away into the shape of the candle-stick. Are you not afraid that you are not in control of your form?” The candle replied, “My sense of purpose lies not in my form but in my substance. My colour and beauty remain intact no matter my form. I am satisfied because I remain true to my essence.”

With those words, the dinner guest felt a burden had been lifted from his spirit.

One thought on “Dinner Guest

Leave a Reply

